Book Review: The Lost Metal

No comments

Title: The Lost Metal
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Publication Date: 2022
Publishing House: Audible Audio

I have been waiting for this book for a while. I was so happy when it was released and then I had to wait for it to be available from the library. I read the first six books in the Mistborn series, originally on a whim, from the library in 2020. After reading this book I feel like I need to go back and reread the series as I know there are details I have forgotten.


Goodreads Synopsis:

For years, frontier lawman turned big-city senator Waxillium Ladrian has hunted the shadowy organization the Set-with his late uncle and his sister among their leaders-since they started kidnapping people with the power of Allomancy in their bloodlines. When Detective Marasi Colms and her partner Wayne find stockpiled weapons bound for the Outer City of Bilming, this opens a new lead. Conflict between Elendel and the Outer Cities only favors the Set, and their tendrils now reach to the Elendel Senate-whose corruption Wax and Steris have sought to expose-and Bilming is even more entangled. After Wax discovers a new type of explosive that can unleash unprecedented destruction and realizes that the Set must already have it, an immortal kandra serving Scadrial’s god, Harmony, reveals that Bilming has fallen under the influence of another god: Trell, worshipped by the Set. And Trell isn’t the only factor at play from the larger Cosmere-Marasi is recruited by offworlders with strange abilities who claim their goal is to protect Scadrial…at any cost. Wax must choose whether to set aside his rocky relationship with God and once again become the Sword that Harmony has groomed him to be. If no one steps forward to be the hero Scadrial needs, the planet and its millions of people will come to a sudden and calamitous ruin.


All in all, up font, I enjoyed the heck out of this book. Wax and Wayne have a wonderful dynamic as always. Marasi and Wayne are wonderful as constable partners. To be honest though, my favorite relationship in this whole book is that of Wax and his wife, Steris. Seriously, Sanderson wrote a wonderful couple. They are supportive of each of other and encouraging. They are able to have difficulty conversation and be silly with each other. Steris knows that Wax will succeed on the path that Harmony has asked him to walk and in everything else. She may not be an Allomancer or Feruchemist but she prepares. She does everything in her power to ensure that things will turn out the best way possible and she does what she can for Wax.

The first three books in the Mistborn series are the First Age, the next four books are the Second Age. The Lost Metal ends the Second Age. There will be other books. I love this and it infuriates me because there were questions that were not adequately answered in this book. Yes, this was intentional on Sanderson’s part but that doesn’t mean I can’t be annoyed by it. Those unanswered questions were the main thing that I didn’t like in this book.

I suggest this book for fans of Brandon Sanderson, I suggest this book to fans of the Mistborn series, and I suggest this book to fans of Sci-Fi. Have you read any of the Mistborn books? If so, what did you think? I’ll see you in the comments. Happy reading.

Read the other Mistborn reviews: