Paperback Perils: Baptism of Fire

No comments

Title: Baptism of Fire
Author: Andrzej Sapkowski, David French (Translator)
Publication Date: 1996, 2014
Publishing House: Orbit

The order of The Witcher Saga can be super confusing. Baptism of Fire is the third book in the original series after Blood of Elves and Time of Contempt. This was listened as an audiobook from the library. Support your local library.

Synopsis from Goodreads

The Wizards Guild has been shattered by a coup and, in the uproar, Geralt was seriously injured. The Witcher is supposed to be a guardian of the innocent, a protector of those in need, a defender against powerful and dangerous monsters that prey on men in dark times.

But now that dark times have fallen upon the world, Geralt is helpless until he has recovered from his injuries.

While war rages across all of the lands, the future of magic is under threat and those sorcerers who survive are determined to protect it. It’s an impossible situation in which to find one girl – Ciri, the heiress to the throne of Cintra, has vanished – until a rumor places her in the Niflgaard court, preparing to marry the Emperor.

Injured or not, Geralt has a rescue mission on his hands.

This has been my favorite book in the series so far. The world was once very black and white for Geralt but since meeting Ciri it has become a world of grays. Geralt has grown. He is becoming a man that works through issues differently than just with a sword. Monsters are no longer just dark creatures to be slain but beings in their own right and worth of respect. And enemies? Maybe they can be allies.

This series as a whole has a very episodic feel, building on the story as a whole with small plot lines here and there with minor characters that engaged in small acts that have far reaching effects on the main characters. This book needs to be read in order after The Time of Contempt. It is not a stand alone text in anyway. If you are a fan of fantasy or of The Witcher show or video games I do recommend this series, start with the prequel: The Last Wish or the first book in the main series Blood of Elves. Happy reading!

Don’t miss my other reviews from The Witcher Sage:

Blog Signature